W Brisbane to open in 2018

Long time readers will know that I love W hotels. I have yet to stay at a US W property (which, I’ve heard, is at the other end of the pole), and my stays at the W Retreat Koh Samui and the W Taipei have been excellent.

Screen Shot 2014-08-23 at 3.42.36 pm

W Retreat Koh Samui

IMG_0007

W Taipei

I’m happy to say that W will be extending into Australia, starting with the W Brisbane.

Now, I’m not a fan of Gold Coast, though would like to visit Brisbane. Okay, Cathay’s flight times are abysmal, but that’s not a factor in choosing destinations for me (at least when there’s a whole lot of time). Anyway, by 2018, let’s get our fingers crossed that a Brisbane redeye will re-open (we took CX 103 last time, but that’s cut short to Cairns only).

Brisbane_May_2013

Given the tourism in Brisbane and the lack of luxury hotels in the area, I find Brisbane a smart move.

5406762de7804a938162701f767f2254-w-hotel-brisbane-1500b

W Brisbane proposed exterior

I hope the construction is successful, and I’m excited about this one!

Leave a Reply

