As the blog grows, it undergoes a few more changes

You might have noticed that the blog changed dramatically last Wednesday.

Screen Shot 2014-08-22 at 11.21.43 AM

Rest in peace, old Hong Kong Airline News.

Instead I have taken on the more modern WordPress 2014 theme. I believe in “content is king”, but there were a few factors that “made” me change to the new 2014 theme (I used to do the WordPress 2012 theme).

Screen Shot 2014-08-22 at 12.03.56 PM

This is the future, the new Hong Kong Airline News.

1. I can make use of the new banner

The new banner appears a lot bigger, so as I used 15 minutes to create the banner itself, at least it’s of more use now that it’s supersized.

copy-screen-shot-2014-06-20-at-9-45-05-pm.png

Took me a long time!

2. Pressing the “Edit” button is easier for me

So I did this for my efficiency too. After I write each trip report installment, I add the link to all the trip report indexes on the other trip report installments in the same series. When editing, I used to have to scroll to the bottom, and you know for some long trip reports that can be hard. Now it’s at the top of the panel. Yay! Whoo!

Screen Shot 2014-08-22 at 12.39.31 PM

Problem solved!

3. It’s easier to find the Trip Report Index

This theme has two menus supported, which is damn easy to take advantage of, as I can put the Trip Report Index directly on one menu and keep it as it is on another.

The shortened menu

To keep things short, I’m very happy with the blog update, and tell me if you’re not happy with something.

I’m going to update my blog every now and then in my spare time, so if you have any suggestions, let me know!

Leave a Reply

