Malaysia Airlines Flight 17 loses contact and crashes in Ukraine

I was about to go to bed just now when I saw about 50-100 tweets about Malaysia Airlines Flight 17. Usually that’s a bad thing, and this was no exception: I found that the flight, 9M-MRD, had crashed near the city of Donetsk, carrying 295 people. All are assumed to be dead but firefighters are currently searching for live bodies.

I won’t go into it anymore since it’s already 1am in the morning, but I will have a follow up post in the morning. But I’ll share my initial thoughts:

  • I felt like we shouldn’t always look up the dark side when MH 370 went missing. I don’t feel that way now. Ultimately, thinking clearly, I can’t really list a bright side of the incident. I think I’ve just matured in thought and can no longer see things with such a light heart sometimes.
  • Ultimately this isn’t as devastating as MH 370, since the feeling that the status of your family members is “unknown” is a lot worse than knowing that your family members are dead, but it is still really devastating for me. I’ve always wanted to try Malaysia Airlines, so it feels like a “future home” to me, so I’m really concerned about this.
  • I’ve always thought that Malaysia Airlines had a “one off” on safety when MH 370 disappeared (I realise the words “one off” could be offending, but please understand that I mean “ultimate fatal safety flaw” instead of “instability”), but after MH 17 crashed I no longer feel that way. They’re a great airline, but I think I’ll hesitate to fly Malaysia Airlines if anything else happens in the future, which I pray doesn’t happen.

I’ll share my thoughts after a good night of sleep (it’s 1am, and concerned or not I’ll collapse anyhow), and I’ll share my refreshed, organised thoughts in the morning.

Best wishes, and safe travels everyone.

One thought on “Malaysia Airlines Flight 17 loses contact and crashes in Ukraine”

Leave a Reply

