Kyushu Karnival Khronicles, Part 8: Highest Price, Least Beds, and Free Wireless Internet

Part 1: We upgraded to a Club so I can review breakfast! + Details
Part 2: Can I survive public showers (onsens)?
Part 3: Grand Hyatt Fukuoka is between a shopping mall and…a red light district?!
Part 4: Abandoning Aso
Part 5: Gone is the Portico in Asian Grand Hyatts, but what should I expect?
Part 6: Upgrading myself but taking one for the team…
Part 7: It gets fun until here…
Part 8: Highest Price, Least Beds, and Free Wireless Internet

I did a quick comparison between price and features of the Grand Hyatt Fukuoka, the Hyatt Regency Fukuoka, the Hilton Seahawk Fukuoka, the ANA Crowne Plaza Fukuoka and the Best Western Fukuoka Nakasu Inn (just for the fun of it), just to see what a catastrophe my mistake caused. And I can’t say I’m that depressed about it.

Grand Hyatt Fukuoka

The club lounge looks pretty good. I’m happy about the “Japanese flair” I see in the rooms, but while they ran out of standard/club twin rooms (I don’t really mind sharing a bed with my dad – pillows in the middle, no one cross that line!), at least there’s free WiFi to make up for it. Being booked in a club room not only compliments access to the lounge, it also gives me complimentary access to the pool (which, sadly, costs ¥2000 or ~HK$150). However, a tradeoff to this otherwise wonderful-sounding hotel is that the price is at a ridiculous HK$3350 (US$432)/night for the club room (which I guess is the only downside to the hotel).

Screen Shot 2014-07-03 at 4.59.36 PM

Hyatt Regency Fukuoka

While they still have club twin bedrooms, the rooms look considerably more dated, and I’m not excited about the outdated bathroom and shower/tub combo. Lacking free wireless internet, the hotel is pretty much an outdated Grand Hyatt Fukuoka (well, it’s at a much lower price, so fair enough). Also, I don’t see the Japanese “flair” that I would from pictures of the Grand Hyatt. The club lounge looks okay, but not as modern as the Grand Hyatt. While I would be able to tolerate the hotel (yes, even without WiFi), I think I would much prefer the Grand Hyatt (for internet and modernity). The room rate evens the disadvantages (compared to the Grand Hyatt) out, as it’s just HK$2025 (US$261)/night, which is comparatively cheap to the Grand Hyatt (note that all prices are for a club room).

Screen Shot 2014-07-03 at 6.40.05 PM

Hilton Seahawk Fukuoka

I’d rank the Hilton above the Hyatt Regency, since they have newer rooms (though you can’t exactly tell you’re in Japan from the room decorations). They do have a separate shower/tub, though in a hideous colour (light, dirty pink…kind of reminds me of the Renaissance Okinawa). The executive lounge looks pretty good, maybe striking the middle of the two Hyatts. The only practical flaw is the lack of internet. 😦 The room rate isn’t nice – HK$3027 (US$390)/night – but acceptable compared to the Grand Hyatt.

Screen Shot 2014-07-03 at 7.09.35 PM

ANA Crowne Plaza Fukuoka

The ANA Crowne Plaza seems considerably less luxurious. The bedrooms seem as big as you’d expect from a Toong Mao Delicate Room, and the decor isn’t much better either. The windows cover less than half of the wall, which is a serious flaw in 2014. 😉 The executive lounge looks…bright. It doesn’t seem especially comfy, but at a comparable age to the Hyatt Regency Fukuoka (that’s not that bad). There is internet in this place, fortunately, so I can tolerate it just fine. 🙂 Price at HK$2050 (US$265)/night isn’t ideal, but at least it’s better than the Grand Hyatt and Hyatt Regency.

Screen Shot 2014-07-04 at 12.19.33 AM

Best Western Fukuoka Nakasu Inn

The Best Western looks better than I thought – with decent decorations to tell you that we’re in Japan and two comfortable-looking beds (interestingly I can’t fit the Twin rooms into any dates). Apart from the small rooms I could actually compare it with the Crowne Plaza. Of course, the Best Western doesn’t have a club, but what they do offer is quite nice also. There’s no internet, as expected, but sadly. The room rate, though, is quite much better at HK$1024 (US$132)/night – but I don’t think I’m gonna get out of my way to stay at a Best Western if there’s a much better hotel in the area, as long as the price isn’t astronomical (which the Grand Hyatt’s price isn’t).

Screen Shot 2014-07-04 at 9.58.03 AM

Conclusion: So I’m generally happy with the Grand Hyatt Fukuoka, as the only downsides are one less bed and the comparatively astronomical price (and maybe the roadblocks as well). So kudos to my mistake!

Leave a Reply

