Kyushu Karnival Khronicles, Part 6: Upgrading myself but taking one for the team…

Part 1: We upgraded to a Club so I can review breakfast! + Details
Part 2: Can I survive public showers (onsens)?
Part 3: Grand Hyatt Fukuoka is between a shopping mall and…a red light district?!
Part 4: Abandoning Aso
Part 5: Gone is the Portico in Asian Grand Hyatts, but what should I expect?
Part 6: Upgrading myself but taking one for the team…
Part 7: It gets fun until here…
Part 8: Highest Price, Least Beds, and Free Wireless Internet

Earlier I’d said that I’d be taking Economy for my two flights on Dragonair due to lack of Business Class award space (unlike my parents, who are taking Business, and I was happy for them and happy about my Economy award seat, as it just adds to the excitement).

I’ll admit that I still live with parents and am still a student, and my parents pay for my travels. That’s why I never complain about taking Economy or regret about anything (though I do give negative comments about the service, since I care about my mother’s finance as much as I would care about my own). I’m incredibly appreciative to travel three to four times a year and report on them, and not have to work hard (though I do try to study hard) for it.

So as spoilt as I seem, my examination grades came out last week, and they are pretty good, so a present my mom is giving me (and my sister) is an upgrade to Business on both legs.

IMG_0004

Dragonair Airbus A330-300 Economy Class (a variation)

IMG_0014

Dragonair Airbus A330-300 Business Class

I have to thank my mom, as I don’t only get upgraded to a revenue Business Class ticket without any actual “pain”, I also get to stay in some great hotels in nice rooms – and talk about them, which is fun with you guys. (Does that explain why I only have a WordPress account?)

But normally this would naturally mean that I get to review a lounge on both ends. However we are travelling with another family who is sitting in economy, and my mom loves shopping. Loves shopping. Especially at Hong Kong Airport, and especially with friends. So given that she has a friend with her and she’s at Hong Kong Airport, it’ll be double the work to pull her into the lounge than to resist going to the lounge.

So I’m sorry, but I’m taking one for the team. I’ll be reviewing the lounge if possible, but I’m warning you all that it’s unlikely.

Leave a Reply

