Review: Northbound Hop – Kenting Street Night Markets

Introduction
KA 432 HKG – KHH 333 Y
Ferry Ride Cijin Scenic Area to Gushan Ferry Pier
Toong Mao Evergreen Hotel Kaohsiung
Exploring Kaohsiung
Jinzuan Night Markets
Exploring Tainan
Toong Mao Kao Shang Ching Hotel Kenting
Exploring Pingtung County
Kenting Street Night Markets
International Terminal Kaohsiung International Airport
KA 437 KHH – HKG 333 Y

We decided to make the most of our sole night in Kenting, so we went out and saw the hyped Kenting Street. It was basically tourists crowded around stalls, so I wasn’t a fan.

IMG_0005

Sorry for the bad photo

Occasionally a tour bus or two would come and go, but overall it was pretty quiet. There was a lot of buzz, but they all seemed to be from tourists (from Kaohsiung or Tainan, perhaps).

IMG_0002

This is the closest we got to Kenting National Park…

Now, I was saving up to buy souvenirs here. Don’t get me wrong, there’s a lot to buy, but if you cross out all the food they serve and there really isn’t much. I mean, there wasn’t much more to get at Jinzuan than food, but at least at Jinzuan there was more than just a few food stalls – I mean, I enjoyed my bubble tea, but I got it right next to the hotel (which is on Kenting Street, for the record).

There’s a FamilyMart that discounts on condoms. What the?

IMG_0001

View of the Toong Mao from FamilyMart

So this is what I got:

IMG_0006

What I got

Don’t get me wrong, Kenting really is worth a visit. For a night. For more than a night it’s not really worth the time. The night markets didn’t have a lot of variety, but hey, this isn’t the city and probably isn’t as populous. But my biggest beef isn’t why it’s underwhelming, it’s that this place is overhyped. Way overhyped.

I mean, tell me I’m off base, and I’ll revisit to see if I’ve correctly figured Kenting out. So how am I at this “vibe” game? Am I off base?

 

 

Leave a Reply

