Kyushu Karnival Khronicles, Part 4: Abandoning Aso

Part 1: We upgraded to a Club so I can review breakfast! + Details
Part 2: Can I survive public showers (onsens)?
Part 3: Grand Hyatt Fukuoka is between a shopping mall and…a red light district?!
Part 4: Abandoning Aso
Part 5: Gone is the Portico in Asian Grand Hyatts, but what should I expect?
Part 6: Upgrading myself but taking one for the team…
Part 7: It gets fun until here…
Part 8: Highest Price, Least Beds, and Free Wireless Internet

Aso is beautiful. The plains, volcano, and river all catch my eye intensely.

MountAsoRopeway

However the hotels in Aso are just mediocre. We wanted to live in a little ryokan in Aso, Sozankyo, but when we found out the lack of showers we just left it.

sozankyo

As beautiful as this place seems…

Therefore, we’ll just tuck away for the nights in Yufu. My dad has found a little minshuku that we’re all keen on which is called the Yufuinsanso Waremoko, and it’s quite highly rated (albeit more of a budget option) on TripAdvisor.

yufuinsanso-waremoko

As long as there’s a bed, I’m fine. (You know that some hotels just give you a tatami…)

This kind of adds to my anticipation. I’ve stayed at budget hotels like the YMCA Self Service Hotel Wu Kai Sha, but going with parents and my sister to one is a first!

Leave a Reply

