Review: Blingapore – CX 739 Hong Kong to Singapore A330-300 Premium Economy Class

Introduction
CX 739 HKG – SIN 333 W
The Ritz-Carlton Millenia Singapore
Exploring Singapore
Terminal 1 Singapore Changi
CX 734 SIN – HKG 333 W

Comfort 5/5 Service 4/5 Amenities 5/5 Little things 4/5 Meals 5/5 Overall 5/5

We arrived at Hong Kong Station early 15 minutes before 9, and proceeded to the Economy line. There were two counters open, and the line moved maybe a person per minute.

IMG_0002

Check in line at first

Then a woman in a blue shirt came to the counter, and at the same time the other counter closed. Drats! However this woman seemed to take 10 minutes, and we believed she might have gotten an “82” (that’s the term in Canada). We stood there doing nothing, then after a few complaints to the sole supervisor of the whole process they finally opened the other counter and started the line moving. So basically Cathay Pacific can’t do their ground services for s^&*.

Anyway, we got started on the Airport Express to the terminal, when we got through immigration swiftly and headed to the gate. Boarding hadn’t started yet, so I did some plane spotting.

IMG_0003

AirAsia A320

IMG_0007

China Airlines 737

IMG_0004

Cebu Pacific A320

IMG_0011

Dragonair A330

IMG_0012

EVA Air 747-400 Combi

IMG_0014

KLM 747-400

IMG_0017

Entrance to the Pier (not that I had access)

IMG_0018

Our bird for today

Cathay Pacific Flight 739
Thursday, April 17th, 2014
Origin: Hong Kong (HKG) Gate: 67 Dep: 11:20 (12:15)
Destination: Singapore (SIN) Gate: D34 Arr: 15:05
 (15:50)
Duration: 3 hr 45 min (3 hr 35 min)
Aircraft: Airbus Industrie A330-300
Seat: 32K (Premium Economy Class)

Only the front door was open for boarding, so we had to bear the moment of passing through their award winning business class. I took a quick blurry photo.

IMG_0019

Business Class

We eventually made it to the Premium Economy cabin, which looked really cosy. (Interestingly enough my mother liked this more than Business Class, saying it was “cosier”.)

IMG_0020

Premium Economy Seats

IMG_0021

Cabin during boarding

IMG_0023

Cathay Pacific A330 sibling next to us

IMG_0024

TV size and airshow

IMG_0106

A rack that fit an iPhone perfectly

IMG_0025

Ample legroom (and my tiny legs)

IMG_0027

Cocktail Drinks Holder

IMG_0028

Recline button (and my massive hand)

The seat was smaller than I expected it to be, but was soft. I mean really soft. I could have this compared with Westin Heavenly bed padding (I kid, I kid). It was the same padding as Business Class, I later knew, and it felt like it. However it didn’t have the gold-stringed touches I expected (which, in a way, is a good thing).

IMG_0045

The seat cushion patterning

I tried their headphones, which were phenomenal. I’ve never touched Bose headphones, but these sure looked like them (I went online and searched up “Bose QuietComfort” and these sure looked like them). Top notch.

IMG_0044

Phenomenal headphones

I explored the seat a little, which was well designed in the most part. The table was especially innovative with its double-fold function, but I swear when completely folded the table wasn’t totally flat.

IMG_0037

Table (half open)

IMG_0036

Tray table (see the slight reflex angle?)

The cabin looked surprisingly spotless for an Airbus A330 that had been refurbished, and the cabin (with exception of the tray table) sure wasn’t showing its age.

IMG_0038

Still-in-shape Velcro

After we did a pushback, the captain said that they had problems closing door L1, and we taxied to a remote stand to check the door out. He couldn’t have apologised more profusely (unlike my 2012 KA 902 flight to Beijing, where the pilot didn’t even seem to feel bad about it). He switched off the seatbelt sign and gave an announcement telling us to sit back, relax, and they would pump some cold air into the cabin.

Up until then this plane didn’t “feel” like an airplane, if you know what I mean. Soon I realized why. The cabin temperature must have been 30 degrees Kelvins Celsius. It was boiling hot. However we knew that was about to change, so while the door was being fixed (the IFE was off), I did some plane spotting.

IMG_0040

Thai 747-400

IMG_0041

Dragonair A320

The captain kept us well informed, and asked us to freely roam around the cabin. So I wandered into Economy.

IMG_0032

Economy Class

IMG_0033

Full house for today

The toilets were definitely style over substance. They were much more snazzy than the A340 economy bathrooms but seemed small.

IMG_0088

Mirror

IMG_0085

Toilet

IMG_0089

Nobility Hand Cream

We eventually pushed back from the remote stand at 12:15, and the captain apologised profusely for the delay (again). I stared out the window.

IMG_0047

Traffic upon taxiing

IMG_0052

China Southern A321

IMG_0056

United 737 (I thought all these fifth freedom routes departed at night?)

We were number three for takeoff after a Dragonair A330 (not pictured below) and a China Airlines 747.

IMG_0066

China Airlines 747

IMG_0059

Idle Korean Air 777-300ER next to us

IMG_0069

Hong Kong Airlines A320 behind us

Takeoff was swift.

IMG_0073

Views upon takeoff

IMG_0072

Screen upon takeoff

I began to find out more about the seat after the seat belt sign went off. The power plug had a little bulkhead above it restricting access for my wall climber computer plug to plug into it, which struck me as being poorly designed.

IMG_0079

Power plugs

Shortly the meal service began. I was slightly amused that we were being presented with a breakfast menu, as it was already one o’clock in the afternoon.

IMG_0026

Breakfast menu

However we were served lunch, contrary to what the menu said. I was fine with that, but I don’t know if that was more of a fluke or the norm.

Anyway, on CX 197 I said that my pasta in tomato sauce was excellent but lacked cheese. You (like me) will be surprised to know that the pasta in tomato sauce I picked was pretty much the same, except…

IMG_0094

Lunch, shell pasta with CHEESE! (and a few strings of spinach)

The other choice was a chicken curry, which my mother was served.

IMG_0095

My mother’s meal

Then followed an ice cream, the first I’d had on an airplane which wasn’t rock hard (I don’t think I’ve ever had a melted ice cream on an airplane either). It was just right. Kudos. Unfortunately I consumed it before I took my camera out, which tells you how good it was (it was just chocolate).

The service was quite good, but not memorable (compared to the service I got on the inbound – stay tuned for that). To sum it up, they were nice, but seemed slightly stressed due to the hour delay. 🙂

It’s worth mentioning while I earlier mentioned that the cabin was really hot before takeoff, I realized that the cabin was now freezing. To sum it up, a blanket and my fluffy jacket covered over me did not stop the chills I was getting from the air cabin temperature.

During the meal service I told myself I would watch Mary Poppins, since it was too appealing. And I daresay that I like Mary Poppins now as much as I liked Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs which he watched along the way to Auckland.

IMG_0100

Mary Poppins

While my dad played Mahjong, he reclined his seat. There was ample space in front of my mother, about as much legroom as a traditional economy seat (upright) had, which is saying a lot.

IMG_0081

Mahjong

IMG_0078

Space in front of my mother

IMG_0102

13 inch MacBook, to scale on the tray table

Recline was a lot, equivalent to a Virgin Australia Business Class seat (that said, the two seats are not far from identical).

IMG_0093

My seat when reclined

IMG_0090

View from the Wing

Soon enough we were descending into Singapore.

IMG_0118

Bad picture of mood lighting in Business

IMG_0108

Views upon descent

IMG_0112

Views upon final descent

IMG_0114

Views upon final descent

We touched down 45 minutes behind schedule and were once bombarded presented with sincere apologies from the pilot regarding the 55 minute delay. The taxi took a decent amount of time, but there was a lot of interesting traffic nearby.

IMG_0116

Traffic upon taxiing

IMG_0117

Singapore Airlines Airbus A380

IMG_0119

Vietnam Airlines Airbus A321

IMG_0120

Crowne Plaza Changi and Singapore Airlines Boeing 777

IMG_0122

KLM Boeing 777

IMG_0123

Airshow upon landing

IMG_0124

The Emirates Airbus A380 beauty

IMG_0125

Qantas Airbus A330

We parked next to a Cathay Pacific Boeing 777.

IMG_0133

Cathay Pacific Boeing 777

IMG_0135

Into the fairly snazzy Singapore Changi Terminal 1…

Overall this was a great flight. I could say that the service could be slightly more personal (stay tuned for the inbound), but this was quite a nice flight. What really left a sour taste in my mouth though were the power plugs, which would be unacceptable for longer flights. Cathay, all you have to do is shave away the bulkhead so I can put my power plug inside – it’ll look less aesthetically pleasing, but I’d like to charge my computer in Premium Economy if it’s possible in Economy. Otherwise, I think Cathay did a good job making these comfortable seats and having good service, so I wouldn’t hesitate to fly Premium Economy on Cathay Pacific again on longer flights, putting the power plugs aside. (Admittedly I do think that for such a short flight Premium Economy is totally unnecessary, but it was worth a try…)

Leave a Reply

