Review: To Peking and Back – KA 901 Beijing to Hong Kong A330-300 Economy Class

Introduction
KA 974 HKG – PEK 320 Y
GICC Beijing
Exploring Beijing
KA 901 PEK – HKG 333 Y

Comfort 4/5 Service 3/5 Amenities 3/5 Little things 3/5 Meals 4/5 Overall 3/5

So y’all know how I had some un-pretty service on the flight to Beijing, which was more of a misunderstanding than it was, um, bad service. This time I decided to just be quiet on the flight, and ask for something when I needed it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Our bird for this afternoon (accompanied with smog)

I did a lot of plane spotting, of course, since we were at the gate 15 minutes early.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

More of our bird

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Side of the bird

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Japan Airlines 767

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

ANA 787 in the distance

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Air China special livery 737 (I guess)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Unidentifiable plane in the distance

Before boarding I was sure there would be at least loop personal TVs, so I couldn’t wait to get onboard and have a look at what this A330 looked like.

Dragonair Flight 901
Friday, June 28th, 2013
Origin: Beijing (PEK) Gate: E21 Dep: 12:30 (12:25)
Destination: Hong Kong (HKG) Gate: 35 Arr: 16:05 
(16:20)
Duration: 3 hr 35 min (3 hr 55 min)
Aircraft: Airbus Industrie A330-300
Seat: 48C (Economy Class)

When I got onboard I realised that most of the mainland China A330s are run with the old A330, the ones without PTVs. I was disappointed, but it was still good.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Cabin view

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Seats 48A and 48C (with adjustable headrests, hooray!)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Entertainment (i.e. AOD – Audio on Demand) and Recline button

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Overhead amenities (no air nozzles)

The cabin was spacious unlike on the A320, and I felt a lot less confined. I was also able to reach across Matthew, my seatmate and one of my travelling companions, to take pictures outside the window (as on the A320, but at least my butt didn’t stick out anywhere).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The wing of the A330 and views

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

More views

We were number four for takeoff once we reached the runway, and I enjoyed hearing the sounds of the rumbles of the departing planes.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Plane departing after us, a Shandong Airlines 737

Takeoff was smooth, and soon enough a meal was served. Again, I went with ice cream.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Cabin upon lunch – I forgot what I ordered alongside the ice cream

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Views out the window

After Matthew (mischievously) took my ice cream and ate a bite of it, I asked for another one, which was gladly given to me.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Just makes me want to jump out…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

View from the Wing

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

View from the Wing

I had a flip through the Silk Road magazine once again, which was full of duty free items (as well as Dragonair information and routes).

This time I asked the person in the back (in her late forties or fifties) if I could recline, and she was happy about it. I like how the table angles itself to stop things from spilling over when the person in front reclines – I don’t know how that works, but it’s…fascinating.

Soon enough we were landing, and the captain went over the speaker to announce a landing time of 16:20 and a 15 minute delay.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Views upon landing

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Views upon landing

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Views upon landing

Soon enough I was on my way home, and glad to see my family again after 15 days.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Finnair A330

Thanks for reading my trip report! Hope you enjoyed it.

5 thoughts on “Review: To Peking and Back – KA 901 Beijing to Hong Kong A330-300 Economy Class”

    1. @ John – Whoops! We no longer have access to the Hong Kong Airline News website so we can’t change it, but I guess that improves my plane spotting from here on.

Leave a Reply

