Review: Down to Modern Middle-earth – NZ 087 Auckland to Hong Kong 777-200 Economy Class

Introduction
CX 197 HKG – AKL 343 Y
Treetops Lodge and Estate Rotorua
Exploring Rotorua
Waterfront Suites HBC Paihia
Exploring Paihia
Exploring Auckland
NZ 087 AKL – HKG 772 Y

Comfort 4/5 Service 3/5 Amenities 3/5 Little things 4/5 Meals 4/5 Overall 4/5

Cathay Pacific has a codeshare on this flight (CX 7402), so we decided to take this flight because of the better timing and seats that really recline. When going there we had to celebrate with our family (Year of the Horse), so we couldn’t really go so early at 7:05pm (the only NZ flight from HKG to AKL). When coming back the schedule was better for us, so we went with NZ.

IMG_0221

AKL Terminal

IMG_0223

NZ Check-in

IMG_0224

Looking into Premium Check-in

IMG_0222

On time!

We made it to Gate 2 with minutes to spare, and the ground crew let us go through Premium Boarding (since there were so many other passengers and all Business passengers had boarded, they split the queue).

Air New Zealand Flight 087
Saturday, February 8th, 2014
Origin: Auckland (AKL) Gate: 2 Dep: 23:59 (00:00)
Destination: Hong Kong (HKG) Gate: 35 Arr: 06:05
+1 (05:50)
Duration: 11 hr 06 min (10 hr 50 min)
Aircraft: Boeing 777-200
Seat: 44H (Economy Class)

Boarding was swift, and we waited a little for the rest of the passengers to go past the horrifyingly long economy queue as I tested out the seat.

IMG_0225

Premium Economy

IMG_0226

Premium Economy

IMG_0227

Premium Economy legrest

IMG_0228

Economy Class

IMG_0229

Economy Class

IMG_0230

Our seats

The entertainment system, I thought, was broken at my seat, but it restored quickly after the door closed.

IMG_0231

My entertainment screen upon boarding

The seats were noticeably wider than a Cathay Pacific A340’s, and I liked the curvature of the 777-200 cabin.

IMG_0232

Air New Zealand 777-200 Economy Cabin

Soon enough we were all settled, and the safety demonstration began. It was the nifty The Hobbit video, not the All Blacks video on the All Blacks Air New Zealand planes.

IMG_0233

Safety Demonstration

Takeoff was quite quick and we were in the air quickly. After takeoff a flight attendant roamed around the cabin asking “Would you like some water?” I declined.

Air New Zealand is quite humorous when it comes to advertising, and this was clearly seen:

IMG_0237

Vomit bag

IMG_0238

Vomit bag

I couldn’t resist taking a legroom shot.

IMG_0352

Ample legroom

IMG_0351

Ample legroom

IMG_0239

Cabin after takeoff

Unlike on Cathay, who actually has menus, Air New Zealand talked about the economy catering choices over the PA system. I ordered the orange chicken, which was…interesting. Sorry I forgot to take a picture…I was ready to crash at this point.

IMG_0240

Table (no power points)

Air New Zealand didn’t have wifi so checking Facebook/Twitter/Google+/Grindr wasn’t an option. Neither was working on my trip reports.

IMG_0241

AVOD Remote Control

IMG_0234

Airshow

Service during the night wasn’t really good. I didn’t see the cabin crew during the night. I know they have to rest, but this was in stark contrast to my Cathay Pacific flight (although on that flight they were just pushing trolleys.)

I didn’t really feel like watching a movie at this point, so I went on AVOD (which is the old, laggy Kia Ora system) and played a bit of Caveman.

IMG_0242

Caveman

The toilet was really, really small.

IMG_0243

Toilet

IMG_0244

All that for forgetting to turn off the seat belt sign!

I slept for a good 5 hours, and when I woke up breakfast was already being served. This was about 3 A.M. Hong Kong time. The choices were egg and something else that I have forgotten, and I went with the former.

IMG_0353

Breakfast

The egg was bland, although it went great with tomato sauce.

IMG_0355

Cabin during breakfast

IMG_0245

The angle of recline (still ample space in front of me)

A notable thing that happened during breakfast was the service. When I asked for a hot chocolate, instead of “Yes, we do. May I get some for you in the galley?” the flight attendant said “I’ll get you a hot chocolate.” This is economy class, but…

After that they took my breakfast tray but seeing I hadn’t finished my hot chocolate they gave it back to me. I had to bring it to the galley myself:

IMG_0354

Back cabin

Soon enough we were landing, and touched with a quiet “bump” at Hong Kong International Airport. And then we were on our way home…

Overall this was a good flight that could have been improved, and I can clearly see why Air New Zealand is a four star airline, nothing more or nothing less.

2 thoughts on “Review: Down to Modern Middle-earth – NZ 087 Auckland to Hong Kong 777-200 Economy Class”

  1. When you rent a corporate apartment in Melbourne, you are assured
    of the best service. Many Fringe events are free or performed outside, creating an open and inclusive environment for the arts.
    Whereas in rented accommodation, you will have
    to call the agencies providing electrician and plumber help.
    With corporate travel soaring inexorably, the latest entrant in the Indian hospitality industry has earned the
    plaudits of the business community primarily because of its inimitable comfort and privacy.

  2. Bangkok is a city spread across 606 square miles with a population of nine million. The romantic city welcomes everyone
    with open arms. First, you need to know “Chuan” is Chinese for “flowing water,” and spa literature notes that water is a foundation of life.
    Whether you are with your family or alone, an apartment in London provides you the privacy and freedom you want in the city.

Leave a Reply

