Review: Down to Modern Middle-earth – Exploring Rotorua

Introduction
CX 197 HKG – AKL 343 Y
Treetops Lodge and Estate Rotorua
Exploring Rotorua
Waterfront Suites HBC Paihia
Exploring Paihia
Exploring Auckland
NZ 087 AKL – HKG 772 Y

As this is Hong Kong Airline News, I don’t want to really talk about cities. However, since the places I go to (well, most of them) are all so stunning, I want to share a few reports about the cities. I tell you, Rotorua was one of the best I’ve been to.

IMG_0174

Stones…or lava?

IMG_0206

Free oysters for sale…with the oysters eaten

IMG_0197

Say hello…

IMG_0196

The Falls

IMG_0184

Sulphur Pool

Rotorua is more of a geothermal city than anywhere else, and the hydrogen sulphide REEKED around the city, especially around Holiday Inn.

IMG_0175

Where the worst of the smell comes from

IMG_0157

Sulfur Holes

IMG_0178

Anyone?

IMG_0201

Awww…

However it also contains really good cuisine…I didn’t take pictures of those.

IMG_0200

Cuisine…?

The weather was sunny all the time, and we loved our stay. Rotorua also sells honey, and I now have my own bottle of Arataki Tawari honey at home (of course, times that by 16 and you get the number of honey bottles my mom has right now and that excludes the creams and shampoo products). Rotoruan mud was also on sale in many places, and I tried quite a few of the testers (but they were too hydrogen sulphide contaminated for me to bring them home).

So that’s a few pictures of Rotorua. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

