Review: Down to Modern Middle-earth – Introduction

Introduction
CX 197 HKG – AKL 343 Y
Treetops Lodge and Estate Rotorua
Exploring Rotorua
Waterfront Suites HBC Paihia
Exploring Paihia
Exploring Auckland
NZ 087 AKL – HKG 772 Y

Hello from Paihia, Northland, New Zealand! I’m not usually the one who plans trips, rather the one who points at hotels on my dad’s computer screen and shouts “Dad! Dad! That’s a good one!” (regardless if it was a flight or a hotel or even a destination) and he would say “Good one, kid!” or “That? What the hell is that?”. My parents plan the trip. I write reports on them.

Here was our two flight schedule:

01/02 CX 197 HKG – AKL 21:00 – 13:05 343
08/02 NZ 087 AKL – HKG 23:59 – 06:05 772

The only flaw was that the outbound flight would be on a Cathay Pacific A340-300, where there would be the dreaded shell seat. I stood that for 11 hours, and stay tuned to see how I felt.

Shell Seats

Cathay Pacific Shell Seats (not my picture, I’ll share some in my next chapter when I get home)

I chose to sleep in Treetops Lodge and Estate Rotorua (cost HK$14,000 a night) and the Waterfront Suites (I have totally forgotten how much that cost per night). Since we were a team of seven, we slept in the Pheasant House and the Three Bedroom Penthouse respectively. We explored Rotorua, and are thinking of exploring Paihia and the towns around it too.

Stay tuned for my reports! I’m not going to post them very soon (as I haven’t started writing them yet), but expect to see a few by the end of the month.

Leave a Reply

